Loading Events

« All Events

My Skies-revisited

April 18 @ 3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

$10 – $20

TICKETS

Sunday, April 18, 2021: 12pm PT / 1pm MT & CST / 2pm CDT / 3pm EDT / 4pm ADT

A INTERACTIVE, VIRTUAL ZOOM CONCERT and live Q&A with the artist & special guests

Join us with James as he takes a retrospective look back to the early 1990s; he will play the whole album My Skies, tell you some stories of its creation and aftermath, and will be joined at the concert, virtually, by some of the people who were involved in making it all happen.

“My Skies was a milestone recording for me. It opened doors for me that led to broadening my touring from Canada to the US, UK, Europe, Australia, New Zealand and Hong Kong! Yes, it won the 1993 Juno Award. Yes, I was sitting next to Geddy Lee. It was also one of two Juno’s won that year by Calgarians-guess who the other one was. In fact, it was the first time since 1972 that Calgarians had snagged Juno Awards! 

But there were so many other firsts:

  • It was my first CD recorded for a label, Green Linnet, the legendary Celtic label based out of Connecticut. I was one of a tiny handful of singer songwriter’s who had been signed to the label that year as Green Linnet began to diversify their roster.
  • It was the first time I recorded away from home. I lived in Calgary at the time and the CD was recorded at Blue Wave Studios in Vancouver. The legendary Gary Crystal and Val Dean sublet their house in Vancouver’s east end to me. The house became a rehearsal space, a writing studio and I really don’t think the album would have been the same if I hadn’t had that space.
  • It was the first time I recorded with Hugh McMillan, Brent Gubbels, Vince Ditrich and Colleen Ecclestone. Although I knew most of them and had played with Hugh before, this was the first time that this crew of people had been gathered together. The team was assembled by producer Don Pennington.
  • It was the first time Oscar Lopez and I appeared on a recording together and would ultimately lead to the Compadres project.” – James Keelaghan

James Keelaghan is one of the most respected and engaging songwriters in Canada and one of the best accompanists on the planet in a duo performance that delivers the goods. 13 CD’s, appearances on the mainstages of festivals from Europe to Australia, James Keelaghan enters the fourth decade of his career in top form. His songs have become folk classics, not only recorded by other artists but sung around campfires, at jam sessions and open stages. His ability to turn historical events into moving songs is unmatched. Rich imagery and a keen eye for narrative have caused some to say that his songs are like 5-minute films–close your eyes and you can feel the heat of a raging forest fire, see a piano sacrificed to the sea in order to maintain dignity, taste the whiskey from an obscure Northern Irish bar. Then there is the voice, strong as an oak, soft as velvet, as reassuring as a hug from a close friend. James Keelaghan is a Canadian national treasure.

About Your Virtual Ticket:

** This event will take place on Zoom.**

All ticket levels will receive a purchase confirmation email, and another email with an access link to join the show within 24 hours of showtime. If you are purchasing multiple tickets, please specify one individual email address per ticket.  Please check your spam or junk email folders if you do not receive a confirmation email immediately after purchase.

Please contact Cathy here with any questions.

Sunday, April 18, 2021: 12pm PT / 1pm MT & CST / 2pm CDT / 3pm EDT / 4pm ADT

Details

Date:
April 18
Time:
3:00 pm - 5:00 pm
Cost:
$10 – $20
Event Categories:
,
Website:
https://homeroutes.ca/product/my-skies-revisited/